Manchester City equalizes Liverpool record with a win over Tottenham

Photo; Aymeric Laporte in action against Tottenham Hotspur

Manchester City beat Tottenham Hotspur to win the EFL Carabao Cup for the fourth time in a row. The Etihad based giants managed a 1-0 victory over the London side with a late winner, thanks to Aymeric Laporte’s header just eight minutes to the end of the game.


The match started at a lower pace, both teams getting minimal chances against one another but finding the net became a problem. After being eliminated in the Europa cup, the London side had a chance of winning the only title they were close to but fortune was not on their side. The Cytizens thrived again.

Tottenham new manager Ryan Mason starts low with a loss on his second match as Spurs manager, Jose Mourinho having been sacked early last week. Jose may be smiling wherever he is right now for it might be true that he could have defeated Pep were he not sacked. The duo have met several times and win is normally shared between them.

Pep Guardiola brags to be the champion for the forth time, winning 3-0 against Arsenal in 2018, penalties against Chelsea in 2019, 2-1 over Aston Villa in 2020 and 1-0 over Tottenham this year. Three of the four wins are against London based teams.

Manchester City thus becomes eight times champions of the title, a record set by Liverpool between years 1981-1984, who are also eight times champions. Manchester United and Nottingham Forest have won the title two consecutive times each.

Pep’s side maybe eyeing two more titles, Premier League title which they’re almost winning, and Champions League which they’re in the semifinals. The possibility of winning four titles was cut shot with a loss to Chelsea in the FA semis, thanks to Hakim Ziyech’s strike.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *