UEFA Super league formed. Clubs could be sanctioned by  FIFA, UEFA, domestic league confederations.


12 clubs have agreed to form a European Super League, a competition way above any other European Competition, and only second to FIFA World Cup. Six Premier League Clubs, three Spanish, and three Serie A have signed the league, making the total number of teams to be 12.

The clubs include; Manchester United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Juventus, Inter Milan and AC Milan.  RMC Sport however revealed that Ligue 1 (France) and Bundesliga (Germany) teams refused to buy into the idea.

With this in practice, the said clubs could be banned from participating in European Competition UEFA Champions League and EUROPA league, as well as domestic football competition. There is a possibility of players from these teams denied a chance to play for their countries too.

UEFA, the English Football Association and the Premier League, the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) and LaLiga, and the Italian Football Federation (FIGC) and Lega Serie A have made a statement to do everything to stop the Super league from being put in place. These bodies vowed to be united against self interest of these clubs, and instead uphold solidarity as it has been always.

“We will consider all measures available to us, at all levels, both judicial and sporting in order to prevent this happening. Football is based on open competitions and sporting merit; it cannot be any other way.” the body said.

Unity Media 254, All Rights Reserved.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *